Monday, January 14, 2008

Swearing In the New Council Members

Left to Right- City Recorder Dana Pollard, John Bradley, Wayne Smith, and Sallee Orr (Sorry about the photo quality)

On Monday, January 7th the new members of the South Ogden City Council were sworn in by City Recorder Dana Pollard. John Bradley was an incumbent city council member while Wayne Smith and Sallee Orr are first time council members. Their terms run until December 31st of 2011.

On Tuesday, January 8th the city held its first council meeting of the year in which Mayor Garwood re-appointed City Recorder Dana Pollard and City Treasurer Holly Kenison.

John Bradley was appointed as mayor pro-tem replacing Alma Richins.

Nate Frost and Shannon Sebahar were both appointed to the Planning Commission for a five-year term replacing John Newton and Duane Beus respectively.

Vickie Mattson was appointed as the city representative to the Ogden/Weber Chamber of Commerce replacing Shannon Sebahar.

All appointments were passed with advice and consent of the city council.

A big thanks to Alma Richins and Shannon Sebahar as outgoing city council members. Alma served South Ogden City as a police officer, police chief and city council member. All told he tallied 38 years with the city.

Shannon Sebahar was heavily involved with various committees within the city and will continue to serve the city as a new member of the planning commission.